karonadrummond

Because We Love Children

Watch That Attitude!

on August 19, 2012

“I have come to the frightening conclusion that I am the decisive element. It is my personal approach that creates the climate. It is my daily mood that makes the weather. I possess tremendous power to make life miserable or joyous. I can be a tool of torture or an instrument of inspiration, I can humiliate or humor, hurt or heal. In all situations, it is my response that decides whether a crisis is escalated or de-escalated, and a person is humanized or de-humanized. If we treat people as they are, we make them worse. If we treat people as they ought to be, we help them become what they are capable of becoming.”

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, German writer, artist, and politician 1749-1832

I remember first seeing this quote on a perpetual calendar for teachers that I kept in my preschool classroom. It stuck with me. How true is this quote! If you’re a parent, homeschool teacher, classroom teacher,or a person who lives and works around other people, take a moment to re-read the quote. Wow! I think I need to post this one on the fridge and look at it every day.

We all struggle with attitude from time to time. Too much to do, too little free time, etc. . But I expect the children in my classroom and my own kids at home to display a pleasant, cooperative attitude. What kind of an example am I setting?

I do fairly well displaying a good attitude in the classroom 2 days per week. But on my days at home homeschooling my own children, don’t I owe them just as pleasant a person as I present publicly? Ouch!

Here is a silly poem I came up with to help my kids and myself to banish the “ratty attitude”. It’s yours for the quoting. I hope it gives you a smile and a boost toward creating a cooperative and pleasant climate with your kids and students.

Beware the Ratty Attitude by Karona Drummond

BEWARE the ratty attitude…

It will haunt you
Day and Night!

BEWARE the ratty attitude…
If it had teeth
It would bite!

BEWARE the ratty attitude…
It is sure
To distort your face.

BEWARE the ratty attitude…
Ratty attitude
Is a disgrace.

BEWARE the ratty attitude…
If it had odor
It would STINK!!

BEWARE the ratty attitude…
A ratty mindset
Cannot think.

BEWARE the ratty attitude…
When you see it coming…
RUN!!!

Put away that ratty attitude
And your work
Will soon be
DONE!!!


6 responses to “Watch That Attitude!

  1. True, true! I once read that we need to be like a thermostat. If our relationships start getting too “hot”, we need to cool things down a bit; if they are too “cool”, we need to warm them up. We need to learn to have an internal sensor that goes off when things are not in balance and take the appropriate actions.
    Thanks for sharing, it was a good reminder!

  2. Love the poem! At some point, I finally learned that there are times I need a timeout more than the kids do.. at least until the Green Eyed Monster Face goes away!

Leave a comment

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Miss Print

A blog about books, libraries, and more. (Since 2007)

robinnewmanbooks.wordpress.com/

www.robinnewmanbooks.com

sciencefunwithmom

science experiments to enjoy with your kids

rebuildingtheroof

"Education is not the filling of a pail but the lighting of a fire." -William B. Yeats

Jama's Alphabet Soup

An Eclectic Feast of Food, Fiction, Folderol and Chewy Culinary Verse

Lit on Deadline

Ideas: Butterflies of the Mind

life without peanut butter

it's peanut butter jelly time! no, wait...

The Wright's Stuff

Chronicles of a vagabond homeschooling family

Days of Our Lives 2

...a continuation of Days of Our Lives, a Muslim family's homeschooling journal.

ourcrazylittlelife

Just another WordPress.com site

Phoebe's Sari-Sari Stories

In the Philippines, we have sari-sari stores — small shops usually attached to a person’s home, selling different sorts of goods. As a child, I dreamt of having my own, but I guess this is the closest I’m ever going to come to it. Sharing different stories — sari-sari stories — most especially from my experiences and learnings as a daughter of the King of Kings, as wife of my husband King, and as mom to our three princesses. 😊

helenshomeschool

home schooling inspiration

Thinking Love, No Twaddle

Using Charlotte Mason's gentle art of learning

Sarah's Sweeties

adventures of a busy mom to 3 sweet boys

atourblessedhome

sharing our family's journey in homeschooling, faith and love

Following In His Footsteps

documenting our days as we strive to follow Him